Keyholders

Recently there have been times when no keyholder was at the terrain at the start time. There are good reasons for this. Keyholders (AKA committee members) are human; they have families to look after, grandchildren to babysit and holidays to enjoy.

Sometimes they have to visit doctors or hospitals for minor or maybe major health issues. They also have emergencies which crop up and disrupt their routine.

It doesn’t affect most members apart from the lack of rings and scorers as they have their own boules and can play without rings and scorers but it’s better if the shed is open. When new clubhouse arrives there may be times when someone wants a rest and a sit down and a cuppa out of the rain/sun* (delete as appropriate).

So at a recent committee meeting we agreed that we should establish a rota so every club session would have a key holder present. We have already lined up a committee member to handle big events (see calendar) but we feel we need to bring it in now for every session.

Here’s the monthly melees up to the end of the year

MONTHLY MELEES PS RH RS BC FT
Sunday, 1 July 2018 Y N Y Y
Sunday, 5 August 2018 Y Y N
Sunday, 2 September 2018 Y Y Y N
Sunday, 7 October 2018 Y Y Y
Sunday, 4 November 2018 N Y
Sunday, 2 December 2018 N Y

and here’s July club sessions.

PS RH RS BC FT
Sunday, 1 July 2018 Y N Y Y Y
Tuesday, 3 July 2018 N Y Y Y Y
Sunday, 8 July 2018 N Y Y Y Y
Tuesday, 10 July 2018 N Y Y N Y
Sunday, 15 July 2018 N Y Y N Y
Tuesday, 17 July 2018 N Y Y N Y
Sunday, 22 July 2018 Y N N N N
Tuesday, 24 July 2018 N Y Y N Y
Sunday, 29 July 2018 Y Y Y N Y
Tuesday, 31 July 2018 Y Y Y N Y

You’ll have noticed that Thursday doesn’t get a key holder. The afternoon session is still unofficial but popular and members have managed well but the evening session despite being requested at meetings recently is often very low numbers or no numbers so we are considering making these unofficial as well. Competitions allocated to Thursday can’t run with low numbers and members are voting with their feet and choosing Thursday afternoon. With more committee members we could service both Thursday sessions but we have to work with what we’ve got. This will be updated as necessary. Keep looking at this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s